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Woodstock Police Offering to Test Vehicle Windows to Identify Illegal Tinting 
 
The Woodstock Police Department is joining other Police Agencies around the country in using 
a light transmittance meter to measure the amount of light that comes through after-market 
window tints. If the window is too dark, the driver is cited and subject to a fine for a petty 
offense and a fine up to $500. A second or subsequent violation of this offense is treated as a 
Class C misdemeanor and the violator is subject to arrest as well as a fine up to $500.  
 
Many states, along with Illinois, have had regulations in place for years limiting the amount of 
tint allowed on the front windows of a vehicle.  
 
Car enthusiasts have been known to illegally tint windows for aesthetic reasons, but police say 
the regulations are for the safety of drivers. Dark window tint can decrease a driver’s ability to 
see other vehicles or objects, especially at night, which can lead to traffic collisions. It is also a 
hazard for motorists to not be able to make eye contact with another driver. Police cite Officer 
Safety as another reason for the enforcement of darkly tinted windows because Officers cannot 
observe the occupants of a vehicle with darkly tinted windows nor see if the occupants are 
complying with seat belt and cell phone laws. 
 
The Illinois Vehicle Code under section 625 ILCS 5/12-503 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes 
regulates the amount of tint that can be legally applied to vehicle windows. The law states a non-
reflective tinted film may be used along the uppermost portion of the windshield if the material 
does not extend more than 6 inches down from the top of the windshield.  
 
The law also states: 
 
“No window treatment or tinting shall be applied to the windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver 
except:  
(1) On vehicles where none of the windows to the rear of the driver’s seat are treated in a manner that allows less 
than 30% light transmittance, a nonreflective tinted film that allows at least 50% light transmittance, with a 5% 
variance observed by any law enforcement official metering the light transmittance, may be used on the vehicle 
windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver. 
 
(2) On vehicles where none of the windows to the rear of the driver’s seat are treated in a manner that allows less 
than 35% light transmittance, a nonreflective tinted film that allows at least 35% light transmittance, with a 5% 
variance observed by any law enforcement official metering the light transmittance, may be used on the vehicle 
windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver. 
 
(3) (Blank) 
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(4) On vehicles where a nonreflective smoked or tinted glass that was originally installed by the manufacturer on the 
windows to the rear of the driver’s seat, a nonreflective tint that allows at least 50% light transmittance, with a 5% 
variance observed by a law enforcement official metering the light transmittance, may be used on the vehicle 
windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver.” 
 
There is an exemption for those with medical conditions certified by a physician licensed to practice medicine in the 
State of Illinois. This certification must be carried in the motor vehicle at all times and the owner of the vehicle shall 
also submit a copy of the certification to the Secretary of State.  
 
It is also illegal for installers to install window tinting material that violates state law. The 
problem with well-meaning installers is that they often forget to consider the factory installed tint 
that is in place before adding a film to further darken a window. Installers can be cited for 
installing illegal tints to car windows.     
 
The Woodstock Police Department will test the tint level of any vehicle at no cost by making an 
appointment and bringing the vehicle to the Woodstock Police Department. Those who make an 
appointment for a window tint level test will not be cited at the time of the test and will be given 
a reasonable period of time to make corrections. 
 
For further questions on traffic related matters, the window tint law or to set up an appointment 
for a no cost tint level test contact Sgt. Robert Pritchard at 815-338-2131 or 
rpritchard@woodstockil.gov.   


